Passing away Without a Will in Arkansas 4 Scenarios
Even if you do not have a lot of property, you can benefit by developing an estate plan that selects how your property passes after you die. If you don’t set your choices out in a legally recognized way, Arkansas state law decides for you through its laws of intestate succession. These laws are quite complicated and can cause a variety of various situations, so you should speak with a competent estate planning lawyer for specific advice about what might happen to your estate.
Situation 1: You leave behind children, however no partner. Let’s say you had two children however both are single and your marriage ended and you never remarried. In this situation, your former partner gets no property and your two children receive an equivalent part of your estate.
Scenario 2: You leave only a spouse. If you pass away leaving a partner but no kids, your spouse gets 100 percent of your estate. Nevertheless, if your marital relationship lasted less than 3 years, your partner only takes half of your estate. The other 50 percent passes to your parents, siblings or other relatives depending on who lives.
Scenario 3: You pass away without a surviving partner or kids. Let’s state you were wed however never ever had kids and you pass away after getting a divorce. In this circumstance, your moms and dads stand to inherit your property. If your moms and dads are no longer living, your property passes to your closest family members, be they brother or sisters, uncles, aunties or more remote relations. If there are no relations, your estate passes to the state of Arkansas.